RENO, NEVADA (January 5, 2024) – The infusion of major events into North American grassroots racing will hit the Outlaw Kart scene this February with the inaugural FTR High Desert Hustle featuring a $10,000 to win main event for the Open division inside the Reno-Sparks Livestock Events Center. A temporary high banked dirt track will be constructed inside the 6,000 seat event center for three days of dirt slinging Outlaw Kart racing plus Wednesday’s practice day. Open 500cc Outlaws will duel for $10,000 to win along with $3,000 to win for 250cc, $2,000 to win Box Stock, $1,000 to win Beginner Box Stock, $1,500 to win Caged Clones, and $2,000 to win Non-Wing. Photo by Devin Mayo

The major event attracted over 100 entries within the first 24 hours of entries being open and has since reached 200 entries strong. Pre-entry continues up until the event, with a link available at  Entry fees increase after January 13th. Spec fuel will be required and for sale at the track.

Grandstand tickets are just $14 and available at the gate each night with a four-day pass available for $40 as well. Kids eight and under are free! All four nights of on-track action will also be streamed live on www.FastFour.TV

The high-speed indoor excitement launches on January 31 with practice sessions at 4:30pm and 7:30pm. Racing commences on Thursday and Friday with hot laps at 12:30pm each day and complete shows of qualifying, heat races, qualifiers, and feature events each night. Saturday format will be finalized after car registration is more fully developed in the coming weeks.

The nearly 70-kart entry list for the headlining Open 500 division includes Lakeport Indoor points leader Rowdy Gramps of Chico, Chowchilla Barnburner points leader Christian Hickman, and Roseburg Outlaw Kart points leader Carly Holmes. 2023 Marysville Raceway Park Sprint Car champion Brian McGahan, Jr. and Silver Dollar Speedway promoter Colby Copeland are also entered.

Some of the biggest names in Outlaw Kart racing are expected to participate including the full slate of factory competitors from QRC, Ignite, and SRT. Teams in the High Desert Hustle compete regularly at venues such as Roseburg Outlaw in Oregon, Red Bluff Outlaws, Lakeport Indoor, and the Chowchilla Barn Burner. The growing form of racing has been the catalyst for many of the biggest names of all-time in dirt racing, including kicking off the careers for World of Outlaws champion Brad Sweet, NASCAR champion Kyle Larson, and 2023 National Sprint Car Hall of Fame 410 Sprint Car team of the year Rico Abreu Racing.

The High Desert Hustle is presented by Michael’s Reno Powersports, FTR,, Shop Kyle Larson, Swimming Pool Perfections, Tubit Forest Management, Victory Fuel, NLG Printing Company, Salco Better Energy, Rush Race Gear, K1 Race Gear, QRC, M&L Plumbing, Dodge City Raceway Park, Pochop Trucking, Pedrotti Materials, SRT, Ignite, Silver Dollar Speedway, TSi Top Speed Innovations, Eddie Boyd Racing, Hammer Down Trucking, Fast Four Media, and Ji Apparel.

Open 500s Entry List as of January 3, 2024
2 Garrett Brown
2 Adam Carter
2 Zackary Kavert
2 Brody Petrie
2 Tyler Sparks
5 Aiden Larimer
6 Casey Schmitz
12 Tyler Hrncirik
12 Sean Green
14 Ren Eberhart
14 Rowdy Gramps
15 Cade Holden
17 Bentleigh Chapman
24 Colby Copeland
31 Kinden Peacock
40 Hayden Klein
41 Rylan Sharrah
46 Preston Carr
52 James Edens
71 Michael Helwig
73 Bailey Lawson
74 Taylor Nelson
74 Adam Elby
77 Brayden Williams
80 Brian Southers
88 Mark Pyle
97 Mason Smith
10k Steve Evans
11m Wyatt Moody
11m Kalob Maher
11vs John Bunch
13E Ethan Lashley
14 B Brysyn Simeral
14 H Hunter Colodny
14 L Colby Lawson
14c Chris Collins
14m Connor Mewhirter
16 j Jason Throop
16 K Kaylin Lopez
17m Evan Gularte
20B Chase Bolf
22c Carly Holmes
23c Cole Revious
24k Koa Crane
2A Renee Angel
2b Eric Botehlo
2c Blaine Cory
33H Christian Hickman
35vs Jayden Bunch
3r Blake Rauscher
55d Dawson Hammes
6j Blake Johnson
6m Shawn Milligan
7 K Kennzzie Brown
75 E Eric Gannon
77 j Jayce Hudson
77x Jake Park
7c Connor Crews
7c Corbin Seay
8c Anissa Curtice
8jr Brian McGahan Jr
8k Kody Hunderman
8m Mark Dempsey
8w Dana Bower
9c Camryn Varrichio
9c Connor Bell
04 Jason Doering
07 Evan Rauscher

Facebook Comments

About Steven Blakesley

Steven Blakesley is a motorsports announcer and public relations specialist with more than 15 years of experience. His biggest pet peeve is race fans who only enjoy one form of racing over all others.