STOCKTON, CALIFORNIA (July 6, 2024) – 2023 Hoosier Tire California Speedweek Super 600 and Non-Wing champion Caden Sarale scored his ninth career Speedweek bear on Friday night at Delta Speedway in Stockton, taking the Non-Wing victory. Sarale was joined by first-time winners Mattix Salmon of Fresno, Brycen Roush of Riverdale, and Heston Stepps of Oakdale during the third round of the four races in five nights spectacular for Micro Sprints in California. Photo by Maxwell Patrick Imagery

Non-Wing led all divisions with 38 entrants topped by 2016 track champion Brandon Carey of Ripon. Salmon, Cody Gray, Broedy Graham, and Jett Barnes snared the four 10-lap heat races. A pair of B-Main races were required to set the grid for the nightcap, a 30-lap feature worth $1000 to win.

Sarale led the main event to green from the pole position. Canyon, Texas’ Brecken Reese slowed on the front stretch, with three-time champion TJ Smith of Fresno swerving to avoid. Mattix Salmon was collected, flipping over for a red flag on lap six.

The first half of the feature was dominated by Sarale before he bobbled in turn three and surrendered the lead to Bakersfield’s Graham on lap 16. Graham then faltered when he spun on the backstretch to draw a caution on lap 21. He was unable to continue.

Sarale retook the lead while Jeffrey Pahule of Brentwood and Bakersfield’s Jett Yantis charged through the field. Smith spun on the frontstretch on lap 25 to set up a five lap dash to the checkered flag. Pahule tried to slide Sarale for the lead in the final corner. Sarale drove underneath him to seal the $1000 triumph. 16th starting Yantis and Carey snuck through for second and third with Pahule settling for fourth ahead of Kingsburg’s KJ Snow.

In Winged Super 600 action, Cody Christensen was the fastest in Hyper Racing qualifying worth $100. Alex Panella, Deegan Irey, and Pahule won the 10-lap heat races. Stockton’s Panella and opening night winner KJ Snow shared the front row for the 30-lap feature. Snow drove into the lead on the opening salvo. Deegan Irey of San Diego spun in turn four and was hit by Montana’s Cole Schroeder. Schroeder was unable to continue.

Snow led the pack into traffic by the tenth lap. He earned a reprieve when Stefan Sidur stopped in turn four on lap 11, with Pahule and Panella tangling in avoidance. Both Pahule and Panella were relegated to restarting at the back.

Caden Sarale hit the cushion hard in turns three and four and his engine went up in smoke, eliminating him from the event on lap 19. Wednesday winner Maverick Myrick and Australian Jac Laneyrie each had incidents as well.

The race resumed with five circuits remaining, pitting Snow versus Salmon. Salmon ran the bottom in turn one and gained an edge on Snow. Snow switched his approach to the bottom of three and four, opening the top to Salmon. Salmon took advantage, sweeping around Snow to lead lap 27. Salmon paced the final three laps for the exciting $1000 win followed by Snow, 12th starting Austin Torgerson of Glendale, Ariz., Fresno’s Colton Key, and Yantis.

Riverdale’s Brycen Roush earned the coveted wooden bear trophy and $500 after taking the 25-lap Restricted contest. Oakdale’s Hayden Stepps was the top qualifier in Hyper Racing time trials. 2023 Speedweek series runner-up Blayden Graham of Bakersfield and two-time Delta Jr. Sprints champion Briggs Davis were the heat race winners.

Roush started the feature on the pole and never relinquished the lead. Hanford’s Bryson Sozinho suffered a hard flip in turn four but was able to emerge unscathed.

Stepps started eighth and her race was over early when she spun and was hit by Vacaville’s Jackson Tardiff.

Roush topped Graham, Davis, Aubri Huckleberry of Visalia, and Tracy’s Levi Osborne at the checkered flag.

The $500 to win Jr. Sprints feature also had a first-time Speedweek bear victor when Oakdale’s Heston Stepps grabbed victory. Connor Penix of Clovis led the qualifying action before Mackcen Roush and Heston Stepps won the heat races.

Bakersfield’s Logan Banks suffered flips on each end of the speedway within the first four laps of competition but was uninjured. Stepps dominated the 20-lap feature. Mackcen Roush earned his third consecutive runner-up finish as well to extend his points lead. Tyce Domingos of Tulare, Wednesday winner Jaxson Evett of Visalia, and Penix were the balance of the top-five.

Austin Torgerson in Super 600, Caden Sarale in Non-Wing, Blayden Graham in Restricted, and Mackcen Roush in Jr. Sprints lead the championship standings heading into the final round on Saturday night at Stockton’s Delta Speedway. On track activities begin at 6:30pm

California Speedweek thanks its partners Hoosier Racing Tire, Chase Chevrolet, Engler Machine and Tool, G Baby Specialties, Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Hyper Racing, Wilwood Disc Brakes, CSI Shocks, Citywide Graphics, Shaw’s Structures, Schure Built Suspension, Bullet Impressions, Fast Four Media, and MyRacePass for their support.

For more information, visit

Hoosier Tire California Speedweek Results – Night No. 3 Delta Speedway

NON WING – 38 entries

A Feature 1 (30 Laps): 1. 32-Caden Sarale[1]; 2. 4-Jett Yantis[16]; 3. 55C-Brandon Carey[5]; 4. 44X-Jeffery Pahule[9]; 5. 24-KJ Snow[13]; 6. 88-Austin Torgerson[11]; 7. 28-Kale Drake[14]; 8. 20Q-Brecken Reese[8]; 9. 7-Quinn Thurein[20]; 10. 38-Jackson Kounkel[22]; 11. 44-Darren Brown[18]; 12. 69-Cody Gray[7]; 13. 02-Ashton Torgerson[10]; 14. 1J-Cameron Paul[15]; 15. 21-Cash Lovenburg[12]; 16. 25R-Brody Rubio[21]; 17. 76-TK OBrien[17]; 18. 35-Gaige Weldon[19]; 19. 14-TJ Smith[3]; 20. 66-Broedy Graham[4]; 21. 5-Mattix Salmon[6]; 22. 55-Jett Barnes[2]

SUPER 600 – 28 entries

A Feature 1 (30 Laps): 1. 5-Mattix Salmon[9]; 2. 24-KJ Snow[2]; 3. 88-Austin Torgerson[12]; 4. 63-Colton Key[6]; 5. 4-Jett Yantis[16]; 6. 14-Cody Christensen[10]; 7. 3X-Cody Key[15]; 8. 51-Dalton Parreira[3]; 9. 21-Raio Salmon[21]; 10. 22E-Evan Dixon[22]; 11. 20Q-Brecken Reese[18]; 12. 55-Jett Barnes[11]; 13. 84-Deegan Irey[4]; 14. 02-Ashton Torgerson[19]; 15. 44X-Jeffery Pahule[5]; 16. 13-Elijah Gile[8]; 17. 2AU-Jac Laneyrie[20]; 18. 54-Maverick Myrick[17]; 19. 24X-Caden Sarale[7]; 20. 11X-Stefan Sidur[13]; 21. 12-Alex Panella[1]; 22. 3-Cole Schroeder[14]

RESTRICTED – 15 entries

A Feature 1 (25 Laps): 1. 17B-Brycen Roush[1]; 2. 66B-Blayden Graham[3]; 3. 96-Briggs Davis[2]; 4. 10J-Aubri Huckleberry[4]; 5. 9J-Levi Osborne[5]; 6. 5-Jace Thurein[6]; 7. 5C-Colton Knapp[7]; 8. 222-Jaxon Porter[10]; 9. 27C-Cam Carraway[9]; 10. 38JT-Jackson Tardiff[12]; 11. 69-Logan Reeves[11]; 12. 11A-Austin Lee[14]; 13. 98-Hayden Stepps[8]; 14. 16S-Bryson Sozinho[13]; 15. (DNS) 21G-Greyson Henry

JR SPRINTS – 16 entries
A Feature 1 (20 Laps): 1. 99-Heston Stepps[1]; 2. 17M-Mackcen Roush[2]; 3. 9D-Tyce Domingos[4]; 4. 4-Jaxson Evett[3]; 5. 3P-Connor Penix[6]; 6. 19-Liam Barton[10]; 7. 23-Micah Porter[7]; 8. 37J-Jayden Ferneau[15]; 9. 4U-Lee Uzzell[14]; 10. 3-David Anderson[11]; 11. 9B-Beau Bickner[9]; 12. 12-Haven Sherman[13]; 13. 3B-Boston Banks[12]; 14. 11E-Easton Wright[8]; 15. 32-Matteo Logan[16]; 16. 7L-Logan Banks[5]

Facebook Comments

About Steven Blakesley

Steven Blakesley is a motorsports announcer and public relations specialist with more than 15 years of experience. His biggest pet peeve is race fans who only enjoy one form of racing over all others.