STOCKTON, CALIFORNIA (April 10, 2022) – Opening day at Delta Speedway presented by Valley Strong Credit Union attracted 98 Micro Sprint competitors to the 1/7th mile dirt oval in Stockton with four drivers ‘parking it’ in victory lane. Ripon’s Brandon Carey, Stockton’s Nikko Panella, Castro Valley’s Andrew Smith, and Manteca’s Briggs Davis were the big winners. Photo by Maxwell Patrick

Racing action was streamed live on The Cushion as well for fans around the world to see Central California drivers compete.

Non-Wing led the way with 39 entrants battling for the $500 prize. Nikko Panella made a rare Non-Wing appearance and grabbed quick-time in time trials at 10.213 seconds. Heat races went to defending champion Caden Sarale of Stockton, Ashton Torgerson of Medford, Oregon, Carey, and Fresno’s TJ Smith. Smith then won the $250 Joe W. Lewis Snap-On Tools Dash for Cash. Restricted champion Jett Barnes of Visalia and Austin Taborski won the B-Main events.

Carey started fourth in the feature but led all 30-laps for the victory. Austin Torgerson ran second ahead of Brentwood’s Jeffrey Pahule, Jr., Ashton Torgerson, and Smith.

Panella did not earn fast-time in Super 600, with those honors going to Fresno’s Cody Key at 10.145 seconds. Nikko and older brother Alex Panella grabbed heat race wins as did Pahule. The 29 entries required a B-Main with defending champion Caden Sarale having to win that 12-lap race to qualify for the 30-lap main event.

Nikko Panella started on the pole position and never relinquished his lead, topping a great run by Fresno’s Mattix Salmon in second. Austin Torgerson, Grass Valley’s Izaak “Speed” Sharp, and Clovis’ Dominic Gorden, who started 12th, made up the top-five finishers.

Restricted’s early season action routinely attracts new faces at the front of the field and Saturday night was no exception. Tracy’s Kyle Fernandez earned the fast-time before heat race wins went to Adrianna DeMartini and Lucas Mauldin of Rancho Murieta.

Castro Valley’s Andrew Smith started third but won his second career Delta Speedway feature. DeMartini ran second after starting on the pole over Mauldin, Clay Mibach of Sunnyvale, and Pleasanton’s Kellan Harper rounded out the top-five.

Manteca’s Briggs Davis won the 20-lap Jr. Sprint feature. He was chased by Vacaville’s Jackson Tardiff, Maya Mauldin of Rancho Murieta, Heston Stepps of Oakdale, and Tracy’s Nathan Fernandez at the checkered flag. Heat race wins went to Tardiff, Fernandez, Davis, and Haven Sherman of Citrus Heights.

Delta Speedway hosts its second points race on April 23, with tickets available at the gate and racing action live on The Cushion.

Delta Speedway Stockton thanks Valley Strong Credit Union, Hoosier Tire, Scully’s Air, Kludt Oil and Propane, Interstate Truck Center, Papé Kenworth, Van De Pol Petroleum, Hostile Wheels, Genova Bakery, Winner’s Bingo, Stubborn Rods, Solari’s Backhoe Service, and PMP Chassis for their support of the 2022 racing season.

For more information on Delta Speedway presented by Financial Center Credit Union, follow us online at or on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Delta Speedway Results – April 9, 2022 Points Race #1

SUPER 600 (30 LAPS)

1. 73-Nikko Panella[1]; 2. 5-Mattix Salmon[3]; 3. 88-Austin Torgerson[6]; 4. 24S-Izaak Sharp[5]; 5. 10-Dominic Gorden[12]; 6. 99-Cody Key[4]; 7. 44X-Jeffery Pahule[8]; 8. 02-Ashton Torgerson[9]; 9. 61-Eli Bookout[11]; 10. 2-Austin Wood[15]; 11. 55-Jett Barnes[19]; 12. 34-Devon Courtnier[13]; 13. 14E-Mariah Ede[18]; 14. 24-Caden Sarale[16]; 15. 32A-Colton Huelsmann[20]; 16. 14-Jake Hagopian[2]; 17. 27-Ron Singh[17]; 18. 13H-Brad Hannum[14]; 19. 12-Alex Panella[7]; 20. 19-Nate Matherly[10]


1. 55-Brandon Carey[4]; 2. 88-Austin Torgerson[1]; 3. 44X-Jeffery Pahule[3]; 4. 02-Ashton Torgerson[9]; 5. 14-TJ Smith[10]; 6. 32-Caden Sarale[2]; 7. 4G-Brian Gilbert[7]; 8. 83V-Tim Vaught[8]; 9. 77-Sage Bordenave[21]; 10. 35-Carsen Perkins[14]; 11. 68-Jayson Bright[19]; 12. 20-Dalton Hill[15]; 13. 19-Tucker LaCaze[12]; 14. 13D-Drew Laeber[5]; 15. 4Q-Mike Graves[11]; 16. 82-Zacary Brooks[22]; 17. 73-Nikko Panella[6]; 18. 55B-Jett Barnes[17]; 19. 44T-Austin Taborski[18]; 20. 24S-Izaak Sharp[20]; 21. 7J-Lucas Johnson[13]; 22. (DNS) 85-Robbie Lewis


1. 33-Andrew Smith[3]; 2. 9-Adrianna DeMartini[1]; 3. 55X-Lucas Mauldin[4]; 4. 58C-Clay Mibach[7]; 5. 5-Kellan Harper[8]; 6. 10P-Peyton Whitehouse[10]; 7. 20-Otto Perreira[6]; 8. 77K-Kyle Fernandez[9]; 9. 69-Jordan Mast[19]; 10. 25R-Brody Rubio[11]; 11. 9J-Levi Osborne[12]; 12. 98-Hayden Stepps[5]; 13. 25A-Bradley Anderson[14]; 14. 8-Alissa Lewis[17]; 15. 21M-Mickelina Monico[13]; 16. V5-Vito Cancilla[2]; 17. 76-Triton OBrien[18]; 18. 95A-Angie Cravotta[16]; 19. 10-Brodie Copeland[15]

1. 96-Briggs Davis[5]; 2. 38J-Jackson Tardiff[3]; 3. 55X-Maya Mauldin[4]; 4. 98-Heston Stepps[6]; 5. 24N-Nathan Fernandez[2]; 6. 25DD-Samantha Dozier[8]; 7. 12-Haven Sherman[1]; 8. 55-Jayden Carey[7]; 9. 5-Dylan Silva[10]; 10. 9-Charlie Haines[11]; 11. 11K-Kyle Klagenberg[9]

Facebook Comments

About Steven Blakesley

Steven Blakesley is a motorsports announcer and public relations specialist with more than 15 years of experience. His biggest pet peeve is race fans who only enjoy one form of racing over all others.