(June 25, 2020 from Marysville PR) – Shane Golobic led all 25-laps to win the Wicked Wednesday Marysville Raceway point show #6. It was nice to see the Matt Wood Racing No. 17w back in California after an extended time racing in the Mid-West. Golobic also earned an extra $100 from Paul Olmsted Plastering for turning the fastest lap in qualifying at 12.776. A total of 19 teams braved the heat and the unusual Wednesday night race. Speed Shift TV was on hand again and was the nights presenting sponsor.

Golobic, from the pole position, shot out to the early lead. On the original start Colby Copeland and Michael Ing tangled going into turn one. Neither Ing nor Copeland would continue. Also involved was Brandon Dozier. On the next restart, Golobic once again took the lead away from fellow front row started Shane Hopkins. Another yellow was needed for Nick Larsen and Pat Harvey who stopped on the track. Each restarted and to his credit, Larsen drove back up to a sixth-place finish. Larsen received an extra $100 from Paul Olmsted Plastering for finishing in that sixth spot.

On the third lap, Mike Monahan flipped over after contact with Brent Bjork in turn four. Monahan was fine, but his car could not continue. Bjork would restart and race his way back to seventh. Back up front, Golobic had the field covered. The real race was for second on back. At one-point Andy Forsberg moved into second and got to the outside of Golobic for the lead but was never able to mount a charge after that. While Forsberg’s car went away, Hopkins drove back by for second. Blake Carrick was in the mix also. He passed Forsberg on lap 17.

A late race caution for Alec Justeson on lap 23 added a little bit of drama to the finish. However, once the green flag waived again, Golobic took off and hid. He amassed over a two-second lead in just two laps at the checkered flag. Hopkins finished a career best second at Marysville. Forsberg got back around Carrick for third. Carrick was fourth. Korey Lovell made a nice run from the back to finish fifth.

Heat race number one went to Kenny Wanderstadt. Kenny was super impressive in his return to Marysville. Brad Bumgarner looked large and in charge by winning heat two. Hopkins dominated heat three.

Rob Gallaher made the long tow from San Jose and won the 20-lap Hobby Stock feature. However, during post-race tech, he was disqualified, and the win was taken away. This meant second place finishing Jimmy Ford was ruled the winner. In doing so, Ford won an extra $100 from W.A.R. Racing. Ford made a rare Hobby Stock start and was solid all night. Jim Brookshire drove from his 11th starting spot all the way up to a second-place finish. Chris Van Roekel finished third. Angelo Cornet was fourth ahead of Toby Merrifield.

Only three cautions were needed. The first took place on lap 10 when Jason Clayton’s No. 53 came to a stop in turn three. On the restart Matt Rivera spun and another yellow was needed. The final yellow was needed on lap 14 when Jesse Van Roekel spun in turn two. Jesse restarted at the rear of the field and drove back to a sixth-place finish. Zach Lindgren was running in the top five but with two laps to go his right rear tire went flat and he pulled into the infield. Kyle Cheney had a rough night and only completed 12 laps. Jacob Johnson had an early exit and only completed five laps.

Dan Brown Jr. dominated the Limited Late Models tonight. He won the 20-lap feature and the lone eight-lap heat race. Brown Jr. won the main event by over four-seconds. Finishing second was teammate Jay Norton. Ray Trimble raced hard all night to capture the third spot. Rod Oliver got around Richard Vander to secure the fourth spot. Two yellow flags were needed. The first one happened when Vander Ploeg spun in lap 11. Oliver spun on the restart.

Full results can be found at https://speedhive.mylaps.com/Events/1774568

Facebook Comments